Donate to cerebralpalsyforum.net today by clicking the button above

Swimming - Please Help

Post updates on current Cerebral Palsy treatments and ask questions on current treatments

Moderators: Tmagic650, Lori-ann

Swimming - Please Help

Postby TD12 » Fri Feb 24, 2012 6:48 am

Hi everyone,
Thank you for taking the time to read my post! I am a management student at University of Sheffield currently working with some mechanical engineering students to develop a sporting aid for a young girl called Katie with severe cerebral palsy.
As I'm sure you are all aware, swimming can have some incredible benefits for people with Cerebral Palsy... It can alleviate the stress gravity places on muscles, help with co-ordination development, increase blood and nervous system development, increase muscle strength and most importantly.... its great fun!
We are currently developing a float system which supports people with Cerebral Palsy safely in the water, similar to a life-jacket but with a float beneath the head as well, allowing the user to lie horizontal in the water. As you might already be aware, there are products similar to this already on the market. Our product is unique in three ways however...

1. It it heated, offering genuine warmth around the torso to the user - Helping alleviate the muscle stiffness and the increased spasticity of muscles which can occur in cold water causing potential health risks.
2. It has Detachable buoyancy aids - Inflatable aids around the torso which can be removed or added depending on the strength or capability of the user - It can be used by swimmers of all ability.
3. It is fully adjustable - The User will not grow out of it over a period of time - It will fit all ages and sizes.

We are in the early stages of developing this product and would really appreciate some thoughts or feedback from you... as you are the people who know best!
The sorts of questions we would love you to be able to answer for us are: